which benefit from the Lake St. John storage, amounted in 1939 to 710,000 h.p. and the development at Chute-à-Caron is capable of a further development of 540,000 h.p.

The Gatineau River flow is regulated by two reservoirs. Installed water power on this river amounted in 1939 to 470,000 h.p. and it is estimated that an additional 160,000 h.p. could be developed. On the Lièvre River water power installed amounted to 274,000 h.p. With more storage reservoirs to supplement the one now in operation, a much greater installation would be warranted.

Other storage reservoirs operated by the Commission are the Lake Mitis Reservoir, the Savane River Reservoir, and three small reservoirs on North River.

Provincial Electricity Board.—Created by an Act passed at the 1937 session of the Legislature (1 Geo. VI, c. 25), the Provincial Electricity Board superseded the former Quebec Electricity Commission, which operated from Dec. 2, 1935, to Aug. 31, 1937. The new Board is given power to control undertakings for the production, sale, and distribution of electricity in the Province, to fully investigate the property and accounts of such undertakings, to alter and cancel abusive contracts, and to fix rates for the sale of electricity based upon the value of physical assets and reasonable expenses of an undertaking. All electrical undertakings in the Province are to operate under licence from the Board. The duration of all contracts for the distribution of electricity is limited to five years. The Act does not apply to municipal corporations that have established an electricity service, except that such corporations may benefit by the provisions for obtaining revision of an abusive contract.

National Electricity Syndicate.—Created by an Act of the 1937 Legislature (1 Geo. VI, c. 24), the Syndicate is intended to develop electricity-generating plants and distributing systems in the Province. The Syndicate may establish its undertakings by one or both of two methods: first, by funds advanced by the Provincial Government; secondly, by the issue of stock or debentures of which the Provincial Government is to purchase at least 60 p.c. to give it a controlling interest. The Act authorizes the Syndicate to use the first method to develop generating plants and distributing systems in the electoral districts of Abitibi, Timiskaming, Lake St. John, and Roberval, and for this purpose authorizes an advance to the Syndicate of \$10,000,000, which may be subsequently increased by the Legislature. No further alienation or extension of leases previously granted on water-power sites of over 300 h.p., capacity may be granted without consent of the Legislature. The Act also permits the Government to contribute up to 55 p.c. of the cost of an electricity distributing system established by any rural municipality.

Ontario. — The Hydro-Electric Power Commission. —The publicly owned hydro-electrical undertaking of Ontario—known in the Province as the "Hydro"—is an organization of a large number of partner-municipalities, co-ordinated into groups or systems for securing common action with respect to power supplies. It had its beginning in 1903, when, as a result of public agitation to ensure the provision of adequate supplies of electric power for distribution throughout the Province at low cost, seven municipalities united under statutory authority in appointing an investigating commission to deal with power problems. This commission, known as the Ontario Power Commission, completed its work in 1906, and in the same year the Ontario Government, by special Act, created the present Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario. The operations of the undertaking have grown rapidly and in 1938 electrical service was supplied by